My Dad

One of the most important things my Dad has taught me is that a person’s value is not determined by the mistakes they have made and the battles they have lost. Everyone needs help sometimes and that does not diminish their value. Love does not have to be earned. He showed me that I am loved unconditionally and I do not have to fight to earn it. Everyone deserves that and so many are not as lucky. My Dad died fighting his battle and I know he fought his hardest every day. He loved and felt everything so deeply and the demons were just too much for him to overcome in the end. He spent his life helping anyone in need no matter how hard he was struggling and it deeply saddens me that he will never realize how much of an impact he truly had on so many lives. It was shared with me that his final act on this earth before driving home from work was one of selflessness. He gave his boss a few mountain dews and told him to have a good night. This was pretty typical behavior for my Dad. He was always willing to help anyone that needed it whether or not he was struggling himself. He never knew just how much he was loved and that he was enough. I am so thankful for everyone that saw what I do in him. Everyone who also knew what a good man he was and never treated him as a burden or inconvenience. I love and miss you Dad.

Leave a comment