The beginning of the end.

As I peek through the crack in the splintered boards I hastily threw up on my windows I can’t help but wish I was dreaming. I watch as embers rain down lighting up the ashen sky. Nothing would ever be the same again.
The morning was just like every other. I grumbled at my alarm and begrudging threw on my work clothes. I deftly flicked my eyeliner and plodded out to my van. The monstrosity roared to life and after berating my self for being late yet again, I set out. I drove a wee bit faster then I should have but strange enough there wasn’t a cop in sight. That should have been my first warning.
I finally skidded into the parking lot and raced inside. Because of my reckless speed I was right on-time. I signed into my register and got to work. Rumors of a sickness in town had spread and people had started to flee. Everyone was coming in to stock up on supplies and fill their vehicles before leaving town. Our merchandise was quickly dwindling and people were starting to panic.
I felt the tension break a split second before the riot broke out and reached for the phone. It was no use. All over town there was chaos. The city was burning.

Leave a comment